Legal expertise center
& cross-border mediation


The Hague Child Abduction Convention applies between the Netherlands and 91 countries. We call these countries ‘Hague Convention States’. In the overview below you can find whether the Hague Convention applies between a country and the Netherlands.

On this website you can find an overview of all the countries that have signed the Hague Convention. Here you can find whether the Hague Convention applies between two other countries.


Country Convention State Date
Afghanistan No  
Albania Yes 01-10-2007
Algeria No  
Andorra Yes 01-10-2015
Angola No  
Antigua and Barbuda No  
Argentina Yes 01-06-1991
Armenia Yes 01-04-2016
Aruba No  
Australia Yes 01-09-1990
Austria Yes 01-09-1990
Azerbaijan No  
Bahamas Yes 01-02-1994
Bahrain No  
Bangladesh No  
Barbados No  
Belarus Yes 01-05-1995
Belgium Yes 01-05-1999
Belize Yes 01-09-1990
Benin No  
Bhutan No  
Bolivia No  
Bosnia en Herzegovina Yes 23-08-1993
Botswana No  
Brazil Yes 01-04-2002
Brunei No  
Bulgaria Yes 01-02-2004
Burkina Faso Yes 01-09-1992
Burundi No  
Cambodia No  
Cameroon No  
Canada Yes 01-09-1990
Cape Verde No  
Central African Republic No  
Chad No  
Chile Yes 01-07-1994
China (see Hong Kong or Macao) No  
Colombia Yes 01-09-1998
Comoros No  
Costa Rica Yes 01-04-2002
Croatia Yes 05-04-1993
Cuba No  
Curaçao No  
Cyprus Yes 01-03-1995
Czech Republic Yes 01-03-1998
Democratic Republic of Congo No  
Denemark Yes 01-07-1991
Djibouti No  
Dominica No  
Dominican Republic Yes 01-01-2005
East Timor No  
Ecuador Yes 01-05-1992
Egypt No  
El Salvador Yes 01-04-2002
Equatorial Guinea No  
Eritrea No  
Estonia Yes 01-04-2002
Ethiopia No  
Fiji Yes 01-04-2003
Finland Yes 01-08-1994
France (including overseas territory) Yes 01-09-1990
Gabon Yes 01-04-2011
Gambia No  
Georgia Yes 01-11-1997
Germany Yes 01-12-1990
Ghana No  
Greece Yes 01-06-1993
Grenada No  
Guatemala Yes 01-05-2002
Guinea-Bissau No  
Guinea Yes 01-07-2012
Guyana No  
Haiti No  
Honduras Yes 01-06-1994
Hong Kong (China) Yes 01-09-1997
Hungary Yes 01-09-1990 
Iceland Yes 01-12-1996 
India No  
Indonesia No  
Iran No  
Iraq No  
Ireland Yes 01-10-1991 
Israel Yes 01-12-1991 
Italy Yes 01-05-1995 
Ivory Coast No  
Jamaica No  
Japan Yes 01-04-2014 
Jordan No  
Kazakhstan Yes 01-11-2014 
Kenya No  
Kiribati No  
Kosovo No  
Kuwait No  
Kyrgyzstan No  
Laos No  
Latvia Yes 01-04-2002 
Lebanon No  
Lesotho Yes 01-12-2012 
Liberia No  
Libya No  
Liechtenstein No  
Lithuania Yes 01-10-2004 
Luxembourg Yes 01-09-1990 
Macau (China) Yes 01-03-1999 
Madagascar No  
Malawi No  
Malaysia No  
Maldives No  
Mali No  
Malta Yes 01-04-2002 
Marshall Islands No  
Mauritania No  
Mauritius Yes 01-08-1993 
Mexico Yes 01-10-1991 
Micronesia No  
Moldova Yes 01-04-2002 
Monaco Yes 01-03-1993 
Mongolia No  
Montenegro Yes 30-06-2006
Morocco Yes 01-06-2010 
Mozambique No  
Myanmar (Burma) No  
Namibia No  
Nauru No  
Nepal No  
New Zealand Yes 01-09-1991
Nicaragua No  
Niger No  
Nigeria No  
North Korea No  
North Macedonia Yes 02-09-1993 
Norway Yes 01-09-1990
Oman No  
Pakistan No  
Palau No  
Palestinian Territories No  
Panama Yes 01-06-1994
Papua New Guinea No  
Paraguay Yes 01-04-2002
Peru Yes 01-05-2002
Philippines No  
Poland Yes 01-11-1992
Portugal Yes 01-09-1990
Puerto Rico No  
Qatar No  
Republic of Congo No  
Romania Yes 01-03-1993
Russia Yes 01-04-2016
Rwanda No  
Saint Kitts and Nevis Yes 01-10-1994
Saint Lucia No  
Saint Martin (Dutch part) No  
Saint Martin (French part) Yes 01-09-1990
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines No  
Samoa No  
San Marino Yes 01-04-2018
Sao Tome and Principe No  
Saudi Arabia No  
Senegal No  
Serbia Yes 26-04-2001
Seychelles Yes 01-04-2016
Sierra Leone  No  
Singapore Yes 01-10-2015
Slovakia Yes 01-02-2001
Slovenia Yes 01-07-1994
Solomon Islands No  
Somalia No  
South Africa Yes 01-11-1997
South Korea Yes 01-04-2017
Spain Yes 01-09-1990
Sri Lanka Yes 01-04-2002
Sudan No  
Suriname No  
Swaziland No  
Sweden Yes 01-09-1990
Switzerland Yes 01-09-1990
Syria No  
Tadjikistan No  
Tanzania No  
Thailand Yes 01-12-2002
Togo No  
Tonga No  
Trinidad and Tobago Yes 01-06-2002
Tunisia No  
Turkey Yes 01-08-2000
Turkmenistan Yes 01-05-1998
Tuvalu No  
Uganda No  
Ukraine Yes 01-02-2007
United Arab Emirates No  
United Kingdom Yes 01-09-1990
United States Yes 01-09-1990
Uruguay Yes 01-01-2002
Uzbekistan Yes 01-04-2002
Vanuatu No  
Vatican No  
Venezuela Yes 01-01-1997
Vietnam No  
Yemen No  
Zambia No  
Zimbabwe Yes 01-11-1995